The Healing Hat: 5,934 Stitches of Support

In late January, I found out a relative living a few states away just learned she had cancer. We exchanged a few emails, so I knew she was about to start chemo. I started to think about how I could help her from so far away.

Then she emailed me with a request. She had seen some of my knitted and crocheted hats posted online and asked if I could knit her a chemo cap to use when she loses her hair. 

I was so flattered that she remembered my work as it had been a long time since I posted any pictures. 

“Of course I will!” I said.

A Personal Choice

She had already received some hats, but most were not made just for her. She really wanted to choose the style and the color.

As it turns out, a few weeks earlier I had gotten some superwash Merino wool with no real project in mind. I knew it would be perfect for a chemo cap. But I had to give her a choice.

So I emailed pictures of a few different hats I have made, with a few different types of yarn that I have in my yarn stash… and with her choice of both, a project was born!

The “Before” picture

Using Malabrigo Rios 100% Merino superwash wool, I made a Seaman’s Cap from a design posted on Ravelry www.ravelry.com. The yarn is soft and warm, and because I knitted the hat in the round, there is no inside seam to irritate sensitive skin.

Support in Every Stitch

Each one of the 5,934 stitches was made with the hope that this hat brings comfort: the physical comfort of being warm, and the emotional comfort of being loved and supported.

I hope the hat does all of those things. 

The crown design resembles a flower.

#handmade #chemocap #malabrigorios #superwash #family #handmadewithlove #cancer #chemohats #hats #chemotherapyheadwear #chemohairloss #stylishhats #chemosideeffects #cancerhairloss #chemolife #nohairdontcare #cancerrecovery #nohairnoproblem #knithat #knitting #knittersofinstagram #handmade #handknit

Author: Naomi Kall

I love to bake, cook, knit, crochet and sew things for my family and friends. Nothing fancy, just fun and fast projects. I also am an avid recycler of everything from grocery products to clothing.

Leave a comment